The Top Ten Punk Pop Cover Versions

I went to university in the late 1990's and this means that I will forever hold a thrillingly bad punk pop cover version close to my heart. I was listening to some of these whilst doing some DIY the other day and thought I would make a list of my top ten.

10 - Go your own way - NOFX


9 - Don't stop me now - The Vandals


8 - Viva Las Vegas - Dead Kennedys


7 - Brown eye girl - Lagwagon


6 - I'm gonna be (500 miles) - Down by Law


5 - Take on Me - No BS Brass Band


4 - 99 Ballons - Goldfinger


3 - California Dreamin' - Hi - Standard


2 - Match of the day - Snuff


1 - Me and Julio down by the schoolyard - Me first and the Gimme Gimmes

(the little bass solo at the end before breaking back into the yeah yeahs makes me smile every time. I first heard this in a club called alcatraz in Leicester, that for reasons of the 1990s, had a skate halfpipe in it)